Federation of Sovereign Indigenous Nations


The Federation of Sovereign Indigenous Nations  (FSIN) represents the 74 First Nations in Saskatchewan regarding treaty rights.

The Federation is committed to honouring the spirit and intent of the Treaties, as well as the promotion, protection and implementation of the Treaty promises that were made more than a century ago.

Address: Asimakaniseekan Askiy Reserve, Suite 100 – 103A Packham Avenue, Saskatoon, SK S7N 4K4
Phone: 306-665-1215
Website: www.fsin.com

The seeds of the organization were planted when Chiefs and leaders gathered in Fort Qu’Appelle in 1946, emerging with an organization to advocate for the rights of First Nations people — the Union of Saskatchewan Indians.

In 1958, the First Nations leaders gathered in Fort Qu’Appelle and reviewed the constitution of the Union, replacing it with a new organization that more fairly represented the First Nations reality.

It was decided that the organization be looked upon as a federation of bands and that the power reside in the hands of the Chiefs. The Union evolved into the Federation of Saskatchewan Indians.

In April 1982, the First Nations signed the Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations Convention and agreed to unite in a common front to protect and preserve First Nations’ Treaty rights and their political, economic, social and cultural characteristics.

The political convention outlined a governing structure that consisted of the Chiefs-in-Assembly, a Senate, an Elders’ Council, an Executive Council and an Indian Government Commission.

Member First Nations



  • Beardy’s & Okemasis First Nation
  • Big Island Lake Cree Nation
  • Big River First Nation
  • Birch Narrows First Nation
  • Black Lake Dene Nation
  • Buffalo River Dene Nation


  • Canoe Lake Cree Nation
  • Carry the Kettle Nakoda First Nation
  • Chacachas First Nation
  • Chakastapaysin Band of the Cree Nation
  • Clearwater River Dene Nation
  • Coté First Nation
  • Cowessess First Nation
  • Cumberland House Cree Nation


  • Day Star First Nation


  • English River First Nation


  • Fishing Lake First Nation
  • Flying Dust First Nation
  • Fond du Lac Dene Nation


  • Gordon First Nation


  • Hatchet Lake Dene Nation


  • Island Lake First Nation


  • James Smith First Nation
  • Joseph Bighead First Nation


  • Kahkewistahaw First Nation
  • Kawacatoose First Nation
  • Keeseekoose First Nation
  • Key First Nation
  • Kinistin Saulteaux Nation


  • Lac La Ronge First Nation
  • Little Black Bear First Nation
  • Little Pine First Nation
  • Lucky Man Cree Nation


  • Makwa Sahgaiehcan First Nation
  • Mistawasis First Nation
  • Montreal Lake Cree Nation
  • Moosomin First Nation
  • Mosquito-Grizzly Bear’s Head,-Lean Man First Nation
  • Muscowpetung First Nation
  • Muskeg Lake First Nation
  • Muskoday First Nation
  • Muskowekwan First Nation


  • Nekaneet First Nation


  • Ocean Man First Nation
  • Ochapowace First Nation
  • Okanese First Nation
  • One Arrow First Nation
  • Onion Lake Cree Nation


  • Pasqua First Nation
  • Peepeekisis First Nation
  • Pelican Lake First Nation
  • Peter Ballantyne Cree Nation
  • Peter Chapman First Nation
  • Pheasant Rump Nakota Nation
  • Piapot First Nation
  • Poundmaker Cree Nation


  • Red Earth First Nation
  • Red Pheasant First Nation


  • Sakimay First Nation
  • Saulteaux First Nation
  • Standing Buffalo First Nation
  • Star Blanket Cree Nation
  • Sturgeon Lake First Nation
  • Sweetgrass First Nation


  • Thunderchild First Nation


  • Wahpeton Dakota Nation
  • Waterhen Lake First Nation
  • White Bear First Nation
  • Whitecap Dakota/Sioux First Nation
  • Witchekan Lake First Nation
  • Wood Mountain Dakota Sioux Nation


  • Yellow Quill First Nation

Incoming search terms:

  • federation of sovereign indigenous nations
  • fsin
  • fsin saskatchewan
  • federation of saskatchewan indian nations
  • federation of sovereign nations