First Nations Government

First Nation Government structures among First Nation communities are at different stages of maturity and development. Some First Nations have self-government agreements with Canada while others have minimal governance structures. Many First Nations fall somewhere in between.

Article Index:

Matawa First Nations Management

Matawa First Nations Management (MFNM) Is a tribal council with nine member Ojibway and Cree First Nations. They provide a variety of advisory services and programs to their member First Nations.

Shibogama First Nations Council

Shibogama First Nations Council is a regional tribal council located in Sioux Lookout, Ontario, Canada. On September 28th, 1984 in the Kasabonika Lake Band Office, the Shibogama Area Tribal Council was established and officially sanctioned by six First Nations in Northwestern Ontario.

Wabun Tribal Council

Wabun Tribal Council serves the six First Nations located in the eastern portion of the Nishnawbe-Aski Nation in north eastern Ontario.

The Wabun Tribal Council is community driven and receives its direction from and is accountable to the Chiefs of Wabun’s six First Nation communities, who make up the organization’s Board of Directors.