Nishnawbe Aski Nation


Nishnawbe Aski Nation (known as Grand Council Treaty No. 9 until 1983) was established in 1973.  It represents the legitimate, socioeconomic, and political aspirations of its First Nation members of Northern Ontario to all levels of government in order to allow local self-determination while establishing spiritual, cultural, social, and economic independence. 

In 1977, Grand Council Treaty No. 9 made a public declaration of the rights and principles of Nishnawbe Aski.

NAN’s objectives are:

  • Implementing advocacy and policy directives from NAN Chiefs-in-Assembly
  • Advocating to improve the quality of life for the people in areas of education, lands and resources, health, governance, and justice
  • Improving the awareness and sustainability of traditions, culture, and language of the people through unity and nationhood
  • Developing and implementing policies which reflect the aspirations and betterment of the people
  • Developing strong partnerships with other organizations

NAN is a political territorial organization representing 49 First Nation communities within northern Ontario with the total population of membership (on and off reserve) estimated around 45,000 people.

These communities are grouped by Tribal Council according to region:

Six of the 49 communities are not affiliated with a specific Tribal Council.

Member First Nations:

  • Aroland First Nation
  • Attawapiskat First Nation
  • Bearskin Lake First Nation
  • Beaverhouse First Nation
  • Brunswick House First Nation
  • Cat Lake First Nation
  • Chapleau Cree First Nation
  • Chapleau Ojibwe First Nation
  • Constance Lake First Nation
  • Deer Lake First Nation
  • Eabametoong First Nation
  • Flying Post First Nation
  • Fort Albany First Nation
  • Fort Severn First Nation
  • Ginoogaming First Nation
  • Hornepayne First Nation
  • Kasabonika Lake First Nation
  • Kashechewan First Nation
  • Keewaywin First Nation
  • Kingfisher Lake First Nation
  • Koocheching First Nation
  • Lac Seul First Nation
  • Long Lake #58 First Nation
  • McDowell Lake First Nation
  • Marten Falls First Nation
  • Matachewan First Nation
  • Mattagami First Nation
  • Mishkeegogamang First Nation
  • Missanabie Cree First Nation
  • Mocreebec Council of the Cree Nation
  • Moose Cree First Nation
  • Muskrat Dam First Nation
  • Neskantaga First Nation
  • Nibinamik First Nation
  • North Caribou Lake First Nation
  • North Spirit Lake First Nation
  • Pikangikum First Nation
  • Poplar Hill First Nation
  • Sachigo Lake First Nation
  • Sandy Lake First Nation
  • Slate Falls First Nation
  • Taykwa Tagamou Nation
  • Wahgoshig First Nation
  • Wapekeka First Nation
  • Wawakapewin First Nation
  • Webequie First Nation
  • Weenusk First Nation
  • Whitewater Lake First Nation
  • Wunnumin Lake First Nation

NAN encompasses James Bay Treaty No. 9 and Ontario’s portion of Treaty No. 5, and has a total land-mass covering two-thirds of the province of Ontario spanning 210,000 square miles.  The people traditionally speak four languages: OjiCree in the west, Ojibway in the central-south area, and Cree and Algonquin in the east.

NAN continues to work to improve the quality of life for the Nishnawbe Aski territory.  Through existing partnerships and agreements with Treaty partners (governments of Canada and Ontario), NAN continues to advocate on behalf of the communities it represents for self-determination with functioning self-government.