Recent progress in Canadian aboriginal comprehensive land claims


Since 2006, Canada and its negotiation partners have signed six comprehensive land claims (modern treaties) agreements and one self-government agreement. Of the six signed comprehensive land claim agreements, four included provisions related to self-government.

These settlements provide:

  • Aboriginal ownership of over 7,700 km² of land
  • Protection of traditional ways of life
  • Access to resource development opportunities
  • Participation in land and resources management decision-making
  • Certainty with respect to Aboriginal land rights
  • Associated self-government rights and political recognition.

The six comprehensive land claim agreements include: in British Columbia, the Tsawwassen First Nation (2009) and the five Maa-nulth First Nations (2011), which are implementing their Final Agreements.

The Yale First Nation Final Agreement in British Columbia was signed on April 13, 2013 and received Royal Assent in Parliament on June 19, 2013.

The Tla’amin Final Agreement in British Columbia was signed on April 11, 2014 and received Royal Assent on June 19, 2014.

In Quebec, the Nunavik Inuit Land Claims Agreement (2008) and the Eeyou Marine Region Land Claims Agreement (2012) are both in effect.

In Manitoba, the Sioux Valley Dakota Nation’s self-government agreement received Royal Assent in Parliament on March 4, 2014, and came into effect on July 1, 2014, setting the stage for the First Nation to become the 34th self-governing Aboriginal group in Canada.