Shibogama First Nations Council


Shibogama First Nations Council is a regional tribal council located in Sioux Lookout, Ontario, Canada. On September 28th, 1984 in the Kasabonika Lake Band Office, the Shibogama Area Tribal Council was established and officially sanctioned by six First Nations in Northwestern Ontario.

The membership of the Tribal Council are treaty status Indians, members of Nishnawbe-Aski Nation; meaning the people and the land.

Eno C. Anderson was appointed by the Chiefs of the Tribal Council as the first Chairman and Executive Director.

During the next four months, the Tribal Council was involved in getting further official recognition with the Federal Government, Provincial Government, Nishnawbe-Aski Nation, Chiefs of Ontario, the Assembly of First Nations, and other National organizations across Canada and the U.S.

In January 1985, Shibogama First Nations Council was incorporated, making it officially an organization that is controlled and governed by the Board of Directors who are the Chiefs from each of the member First Nations.

Shibogama First Nations Council Member Communities: